Eight Aggies have received the Congressional Medal of Honor, which is awarded for valor against an enemy force, and is the highest award a member of the Armed Services of the United States can earn.

Replicas of all eight medals, along with an etching and a brief story describing the heroism of each recipient, are currently displayed in the Hall of Honor, which is on north side of the 1st floor of the Memorial Student Center.

The Medal of Honor recipients are:

  • Lieutenant Eli L. Whiteley ‘41
  • Sergeant William G. Harrell ‘43
  • Major Horace S. Carswell, Jr. ‘38
  • Sergeant George D. Keathley ‘37
  • Lieutenant Turney W. Leonard ‘42
  • Lieutenant Lloyd H. Hughes ‘43
  • Lieutenant Thomas W. Fowler ‘43
  • Specialist Fifth Class Clarence E. Sasser

Visit our flickr site to see photos of the MSC Hall of Honor